New Short Story: A Miracle of Ballpoints

I’m writing a short story today whose characters are survivors of the December Revolution in Romania. It’s actually a light story, based on true events (I knew the family I’m writing about, but the names are changed, of course), but reading up about the revolution is not exactly light! I came across this quotation from Cristian Tudor Popescu, the editor of a Romanian newspaper called Adevarul, in an NY Times article, and thought I would share it here.

If Romania gained its dignity in the Revolution, “We also have to gain the truth, because living under a lie while free is even less dignified than being prisoners under a lie.”

Image

My story, which is called A Miracle of Ballpoints, will be published in the next issue (June/ July) of Vancouver Island Almost Free. I will post a link here when it’s ready to read!

Leave a comment